VMware Horizon Session Collaboration

With the recent release of Horizon 7.4 a new feature was launched to allow multiple users to share the same Blast Session.  Aimed at collaborative working in particular for high graphics and design use cases.

Requirements:

  • Only available using the Blast Protocol, not PCoIP or RDP.
  • Need Horizon Enterprise license.
  • Upgrade your Horizon Client to version 4.7
  • Upgrade your Horizon Connection Servers to Horizon 7.4.0
  • Upgrade you Horizon Agent to 7.4
  • Available in VDI and RDSH

How to enable Session Collaboration

Once you have upgraded to Horizon 7.4 you will notice a new option you will need to enable on the desktop pool or RDSH farm in the Desktop Pool Settings.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 11.30.06

Lets see it in action….

The primary collaborator instigates the blast session.

Log into a VDI desktop or RDSH Server with the new 7.4 agent installed and you will notice a new icon in the system tray for VMware Horizon Collaboration.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 12.34.49

When you click the icon you get asked to invite users to the session collaboration.

Note: default maximum is 5 users but this can be increased.

Once you have entered all the users usernames and/or email addresses for the collaboration you get options to copy the link to the clipboard, email the link or IM the link.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.17.13

In my lab I didn’t have a mail or IM client installed on the desktop so didn’t get those options.

Once you have clicked copy/email/IM link you will get a ‘success’ message and will notice a collaboration icon on your desktop.Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.22.43

A secondary collaborator joins the session:

A secondary user opens the Horizon Client and copies the link provided in the email/clipboard/IM that the primary user has provided or simply logs into the Horizon Client as they normally would.

As well as their usual entitlements they will also see a Collaborative Desktop Session identified by the primary users username.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.32.11

When a user joins the collaborative session the primary user receives a notification on their desktop stating that a user has joined the session.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.41.06

When a secondary user connects they initially do not have mouse/keyboard control.  Control can be granted to a user by clicking the Session Collaboration icon in the toolbar and grating them control by toggling the control button for the appropriate user.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 14.09.21

The primary collaborator also has the option to remove a user from the collaboration or end the collaboration, which will close all secondary sessions.

A great new feature.  Watch this space for more detail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *